PCS Day 24

May 28, 2016

Sycamore Canyon SP to Redondo Beach

50.1 miles, 3:59 in the saddle, 1270 ft of climbing

Total Miles: 1328

For some reason I didn’t write anything in my paper journal about today. I think I was preoccupied with getting a room lined up somewhere in LA and navigating through the city. When I stopped in Malibu at a McDonalds for a late 2nd breakfast, I spent my time booking a room in Redondo Beach for the night, and apparently didn’t write anything in my journal.

So, three days later when I’m writing this all I have to go on are my pictures and my memories which are now all melded together. And even the pictures don’t always bring back a recollection. For example, I’ve been through so many beach bike/pedestrian paths they all look pretty much the same. When I look at the pictures I have no idea which beach/town it was in. Fortunately the iPhone does record where the picture was taken.

Anyway, my notes say I left camp at 8 am. Before I broke camp I walked down to the beach.

Sycamore Canyon Campsite

Point Mugu State Park


The route was on Hwy 1 all the way to and through Malibu. Malibu is apparently about 27 miles long, with houses lining the space between the highway and the beach or bluff, and on the upland hills. Fancy houses. Seemed to go on forever.

Fancy Houses Downhill

Looking down the coast towards Santa Monica

Fancy Houses Uphill


Once into Santa Monica the route was almost entirely on beachfront bike/pedestrian paths. Interesting, and kind of fun riding, but not fast by any means.

Santa Monica Beach Bike/Pedestrian Path

Canal into the Marina Del Rey

Another selfie, because I know some folks (well, my mother anyway) like to see pictures of me


I was happy to pull into my motel about 2:30 pm. I contacted my niece, Dayspring, who lives in the LA area, and learned that my sister Peggy and her husband Doug were in town as well. So we made arrangements to meet (well, by that I mean they drove across town to meet me) for dinner.

I got my laundry done and then had an enjoyable dinner with Peggy, Doug, Dayspring, and her husband Robbie, who I had not actually met before.

And, we made plans for Robbie to meet me in the morning and complete the day’s ride to Dana Point with me.

And one other final announcement. I’m going to end the ride in San Diego, for a variety of reasons. I guess I should rename it the PC Tour, as I won’t be doing the Sierras, at least not right now. I’ll give more thoughts on this decision in following posts.

Leave a Reply

