Coffeeneuring #3

Date:  10/12/2013
Destination:  Fire Island Rustic Bakeshop Anchorage, AK
Drink:  Drip Coffee (with cream!)
Distance:  37.0 miles

Tom agreed to join me again for this ride.  We left our respective homes about 9 am with the plan to meet up and head to Anchorage for coffee.  The temp was in the mid 40s as I left with gusty winds coming down the valley.

Looking up Eagle River Valley

Looking up Eagle River Valley

Two moose, one on each side of the trail, greeted me as I approached Fort Richardson.

Moose #1

Moose #1

Moose #2

Moose #2

Then, as I approached the Boniface tunnel, another moose materialized, heading down the trail directly at me. I soon realized that MP’s from Elemendorf AFB were “herding” the moose down the trail towards me in their vehicle.  The moose eventually bolted off the trail. As I walked my bike off the trail to get around the MPs, they asked me to wait for the moose to clear out.  I told them I was fine and continued on through the tunnel.  I don’t know what they were trying to do, but it seemed inappropriate to me.

I met Tom shortly after and he had seen moose on his ride as well.  We headed south to catch the Chester Creek trail.  Soon we encountered a couple more moose!  They seemed quite content by the trail as we took a few photos.

Moose #4 and 5

Moose #4 and 5

Moose trying to hide behind tree

Moose trying to hide behind tree

Before we exited the Chester Creek trail we saw yet another (#6 for me) moose!  But we were ready for coffee so we headed off the trail to Fire Island Rustic Bakeshop.

Fire Island Rustic Bakeshop

Fire Island Rustic Bakeshop

Fire Island Rustic Bakeshop

Fire Island Rustic Bakeshop

The place was hopping with folks getting their bread, muffins, cinnamon rolls, etc.  But Tom and I, on low-carb diets, resisted the lovely enticing aroma, and settled on cups of regular drip coffee.

After finishing our coffee Tom headed home and I headed north through downtown to catch the Ship Creek trail and an uneventful ride home.

Ship Creek Trail

Ship Creek Trail

3 Down, and 4 to go.

3 thoughts on “Coffeeneuring #3

  1. Pingback: Shutdown’s Over: Let’s Talk Coffeeneuring | chasing mailboxes d.c.

Leave a Reply

