Coffeeneuring #1

Date:  10/5/2013
Destination: Side Street Espresso, Anchorage, AK
Drink:  Doppio (double shot of espresso)
Mileage:  39.7 miles

Doppio at Side Street Espresso

Doppio at Side Street Espresso

In accordance with my plan this was a longer ride into downtown Anchorage.  It was a beautiful day, and the longest ride I’ve done since the last Brevet I rode in Homer on August 14.  I rode into downtown on the Ship Creek Trail.  Side Street had a quiet, almost library like atmosphere on this Saturday morning.  There were at least half a dozen patrons, but they were all quietly reading, working on crossword puzzles or involved with their laptops and tablets.  I joined in while I drank my coffee and water and perused Facebook on my phone.  I saw I had a post from my friend and fellow randonneur Tom, who it turns out, is also going to attempt the Coffeeneuring Challenge. Hopefully we’ll meet up for some of the rides.

Energized by the coffee I left Side Street and headed down the Coastal Trail to Westchester Lagoon and the Chester Creek trail.

Westchester Lagoon

Westchester Lagoon

I had to make an unplanned stop at McDonalds on the way for some fuel.  I had an urge for a fish filet sandwich that hit the spot.

As I headed down the hill to Eagle River I decided to take a short detour towards the (closed for the season) Eagle River Campground.

IMG_1040

Eagle River Campground Road

IMG_1041

Eagle River Campground Road

Returning I ventured onto the Eagle River multi-use trails for a view up Eagle River Valley.

Eagle River Valley

Eagle River Valley

Eagle River Multi-Use trails

Eagle River Multi-Use trails

Just a short ride further and I was home.  Beautiful ride for coffee on a beautiful day!

Leave a Reply

